Three Translated Novels Included in Impac Dublin Literary Award Shortlist

ImpDubAward logoThree translated novels have been included in the shortlist for this year’s International Impac Dublin Literary Award.

Press Release:

Wednesday 15th April 2015: 10 novels have been shortlisted for the 20th International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award, managed by Dublin City Libraries. The list includes TransAtlantic by Irish author and former winner, Colum McCann, three novels in translation from Brazil, France and Morocco and novels from Australia, Nigeria, the UK and the USA.

The IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award, an initiative of Dublin City Council, is worth €100,000 to the winner and is the world’s most valuable annual literary award for a single work of fiction published in English. The award was launched on 7th April 1995, making this year our 20th anniversary.

The shortlisted titles are:

The titles on this year’s shortlist were nominated by public libraries in Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Sweden, Switzerland, the UK and the USA. This is a list of high quality literature with three novels in translation which might not otherwise be brought to the attention of readers. I am delighted to see a Dubliner’s name included on the list – Colum McCann.

— Dublin Lord Mayor, Christy Burke, Patron of the Award

The 20th winner will be chosen from this intriguing international shortlist which includes four women writers. The novels come from Africa, America, Australia, Brazil, France, Ireland and the UK. While many of the stories reflect contemporary themes, they bring us characters facing timeless challenges of love and loss, of innocence and isolation. These engaging stories are set against contrasting landscapes which include Brooklyn, Iceland and Lagos.

— Margaret Hayes, Dublin City Librarian

The five member international judging panel; Valentine Cunningham, Christine Dwyer Hickey, Daniel Hahn, Kate Pullinger and Jordi Soler; chaired by Hon. Eugene R. Sullivan, will select one winner which will be announced by the Lord Mayor on the morning of Wednesday 17th June.

Leave a Reply