Man Booker Longlist Announced

This year’s Man Booker Fiction Award longlist has been released and features just one book published by an independent publisher, Sarah Hall’s ‘How to Paint a Dead Man’ (Faber). Random House and Penguin have done particularly well with five and three books respectively, although Penguin’s three books featured include a first from their Penguin Ireland imprint with Ed O’Loughlin’s ‘Not Untrue & Not Unkind’.

This year’s long list looks particularly strong with regular shortlisted authors, Colm Toibin, A S Byatt, J M Coetzee and William Trevor.

The list will be reduced to six for the shortlist and these will be announced on September, 8th. Although, if the long list is anything to go by – the dozen turned out to be thirteen – don’t be surprised if we have seven books in the shortlist!

The overall winner will be announced on October 6th.

The full Man Booker Fiction Prize longlist:

A S Byatt – The Children’s Book (Chatto)
J M Coetzee – Summertime (Harvill Secker)
Adam Foulds – The Quickening Maze (Jonathan Cape)
Sarah Hall – How to Paint a Dead Man (Faber)
Samantha Harvey – The Wilderness (Jonathan Cape)
James Lever – Me Cheeta (Fourth Estate)
Hilary Mantel Wolf – Hall (Fourth Estate)
Simon Mawer – The Glass Room (Little, Brown)
Ed O’Loughlin – Not Untrue & Not Unkind (Penguin – Ireland)
James Scudamore – Heliopolis (Harvill Secker)
Colm Toibin – Brooklyn (Viking)
William Trevor – Love and Summer (Viking)
Sarah Waters – The Little Stranger (Virago)

Man Booker website.

Leave a Reply