Man Booker International Prize 2009 – Final 14 Authors

The final 14 authors for the Man Booker International Prize have just been announced. Unlike the English award, the International prize is awarded every two years and celebrates an international author’s contribution to fiction over their entire career, rather than just a single book. The award was previously won by Ismail Kadaré and Chinua Achebe.

The 14 nominees are:

Peter Carey (Australia)
Evan S. Connell (USA)
Mahasweta Devi (Bangladesh)
E.L. Doctorow (USA)
James Kelman (UK)
Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru)
Arnošt Lustig (Czech Republic)
Alice Munro (Canada)
V.S. Naipaul (Trinidad/India)
Joyce Carol Oates (USA)
Antonio Tabucchi (Italy)
Ngugi Wa Thiong’O (Kenya)
Dubravka Ugresic (Croatia)
Ludmila Ulitskaya (Russia)

The winner will be announced in May and recieve the award in person at a ceremony in Dublin, Ireland on June 25th, 2009.

Leave a Reply