IMPAC International Dublin Literary Award

The IMPAC Dublin Literary Award is billed as the richest literary prize in the world for single works of fiction which shows literary excellence. The shortlist of eight authors was announced in Dublin by The Lord Mayor of Dublin, Eibhlin Byrne yesterday at The Mansion House. The shortlist was selected from 146 novels nominated by 157 public libraries in 117 cities around the world. The winner will receive €100,000.

The eight shortlisted titles are:

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz (Dominican / American) Riverhead Books

Ravel by Jean Echenoz (French) in translation. The New Press

The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid (Pakistani / British) Hamish Hamilton / Harcourt / Doubleday Canada

The Archivist’s Story by Travis Holland (American) Dial Press

The Burnt-Out Town of Miracles by Roy Jacobsen (Norwegian) in translation. John Murray Publishers

The Indian Clerk by David Leavitt (American) Bloomsbury Publishing

Animal’s People by Indra Sinha (Indian / British) Simon & Schuster

Man Gone Down by Micheal Thomas (American) Grove / Atlantic

The winner of the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award will be announced by The Patron of the Award, The Lord Mayor of Dublin, Eibhlin Byrne, on Thursday June 11th 2009. The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award is run and administered by Dublin City Libraries, on behalf of the City’s Council. IMPAC is an international management productivity company based in Dublin.

The award was won last year by Rawi Hage for his novel, De Niro’s Game.

Leave a Reply