2013 Independent Publisher Book Awards (IPPY) Winners Announced

The 2013 IPPY Award winners were announced last week and not surprisingly the extensive list of medal winners features an increased representation from micropresses and self-published authors. In fact the e-book section of the award is dominated by self-published authors. Compared to previous years, there is a distinct ‘drop-off’ in titles from authors using packaged self-publishing services.

The “IPPY” Awards were first launched in 1996 with the purpose of bringing increased recognition to deserving but often unsung titles published by independent authors and publishers. The awards are open to all members of the independent publishing industry, and to authors and publishers worldwide who produce books written in English and intended for the North American market. Since the inaugural contest in 1996, over 4,500 books have received IPPY Awards, and all the recognition, credibility, and increased sales that a book award can bring. Independent spirit and expertise comes from publishers of all sizes and budgets, and books are judged with that in mind.
There was almost 2,500 independent authors and publishers who participated in this year’s Independent Publisher Book Awards contest. The awards ceremony to honour the category winners will take place on May 29th in New York, on the eve of the Book Expo America convention. The list of winners is far too extensive to list here but you can find full details at the IPPY page.

Leave a Reply